Summer white bean salad with basil and tomatoes

After making the soup, I still have white beans left. So I decided to make the summer white bean salad. I love dishes like this – a few ingredients that work well together and only takes 5 minutes to throw together. No need for complicated recipes!

I don’t normally eat fresh tomatoes out of season, but I had a container of grape tomatoes, as well as cucumber (going off recipe again!). I’ll definitely be making it again when my garden tomatoes are ready. This dish would be good with any type of pesto as well.

My only complaint was the beans. Some were a lovely creamy texture. Some were kind of mealy. Sigh. I read that one way to solve this is to soak the beans in a brine, rather than just plain water. I’ll give that a go next time.

Leave a Reply

