Porcini mushroom and barley soup

I know, not a very attractive picture. It’s hard to make mushroom soup look good!

This was a pretty basic soup recipe. Dried mushrooms, fresh mushrooms, barley, carrot/celery/onion. It’s pretty good. The liquid from rehydrating the mushrooms gives it a good flavour boost. I normally would use vegetable broth when making a vegetarian soup, but I have to use up my chicken stock in the freezer, so that’s where I deviated a bit from the recipe.

Not a stunner, but a solid recipe.

(Revision: I’m liking this more and more).

Leave a Reply

