Sicilian chickpeas with escarole and caramelized onion

I had my doubts about this one. Caramelized onions are always good, but raisins? Escarole?

Wrong! It was very tasty.

I should have known. I’ve cooked other weird sounding Sicilian dishes and they’ve always been good. A couple of things with this recipe:

  • I cooked the onions in advance because, no matter what a recipe says, it always takes way more than 15 minutes to properly caramelize them!
  • My chickpeas were not cooked properly. I had them simmering for close to two hours and then had to leave the house. Plus, it was a million degrees and I couldn’t take it anymore. So rather than creamy chickpeas, I’ve got slightly al dente chickpeas.
  • Instead of escarole, I used endive. It’s what I could find at the store.
  • The raisins may seem weird, but I think they are essential. They, along with the caramelized onions, balance out the bitter greens.
  • It’s just as good cold.

Turns out to be a lovely side dish, or a good meal on it’s own. I think fennel would be a nice addition as well. Win!

I’m liking this book…I think it’s going to be a keeper.

Leave a Reply

