Chickpea and fennel soup with orange zest

So I love fennel. I like chickpeas. I love soup. I was excited about this recipe.

Unfortunately, it’s only ok. I’ll eat it. But I won’t make it again. Life is too short for mediocre soup.

The flavour is fine, although I am not sure I am a huge fan of the orange. It’s the chickpeas that are the problem, and this is likely my fault. They are still kind of dry. I thought I cooked them enough. But the texture just isn’t there. Why can’t I cook dried beans properly???? Bane of my existence.

I’ll eat it this week. And then…as much as I hate to do it…chuck out the leftovers. Life is too short for mediocre soup.

Leave a Reply

