Interlude: Ruhlman’s Lemon Cumin Dal

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe out of Michael Ruhlman’s book, Twenty, for a long time. I’ll talk more about the book when I feature it, but I needed some protein last week, so I  went ahead and made it.

This dal uses mung beans and black eyed peas. You first just cook them in water…and, I have to admit, things did not seem promising at this point. It didn’t smell that good.

But then you fry up some spices in butter, add it, squeeze in some lemon juice and all is right with the world again 😉

I served it with quinoa and ate it with some plain yogurt. It was good, but not amazing. I’m not sure I’d make it again. And now need to figure out what to do with a package of mung beans!

Leave a Reply

