Throwback: Bishop’s Tomato Tart

I haven’t been very good at cooking out of the books I chose for the summer. But, it’s tomato season and the internet raves about Jack Bishop’s tomato tart. It’s just mozzarella, tomatoes and a basil garlic tart shell. If you have great ingredients, you don’t need many of them.

I didn’t exactly make the recipe. But, it inspired what I did make. I had a pie crust in the freezer, but given my last tart disaster, I decided to go with a galette instead. Much easier in this hot weather. I put some buffalo mozzarella and ricotta at the bottom, a mix of fresh herbs from garden (rosemary, thyme, and parsley), topped with beautiful tomatoes.

It looked beautiful. And then this happened…

IMG_1815

Sigh. I couldn’t let those tomatoes go to waste. So…I scraped it up off the floor and put it in the oven. Clearly I won’t be serving it to anyone else, but it smelled amazing and I will definitely be eating it!

Leave a Reply

