French Brasserie Cookbook – Tarte tatin with rosemary and toasted almonds

The French Brasserie Cookbook is one of my newer acquisitions. A tarte tatin has been on my cooking bucket list for a while, so I decided to give it a go on New Year’s Eve.

This recipe adds rosemary and toasted almonds to the basic recipe. It also uses puff pastry, which is also on my list of things to make. But I didn’t have the time nor the energy. Plus,  I was doing some reading and discovered that the original creators used a pie dough rather than puff pastry.

A tarte tatin is basically apples with a caramel baked with a dough on top. After it is done baking, you flip it over. This was moderately successful. some of the apple didn’t come with the flip and I had to manually transfer them. That’s why it doesn’t look so hot. I also used a couple mushy apples that needed eaten, but I think they didn’t hold up enough. All Granny Smith next time! But it’s really tasty…especially with yogurt in the morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

