Turkish Delights – Stewed kale, chickpeas and bulgur

I had been looking Turkish Delights the last few times I went to the grocery store, so I finally decided to get it. It’s a beautiful book, written by a UK based chef who has a Turkish father and partner. It’s a beautiful journey through the country and there are lots of recipes I want to try.

My first recipe is unfortunately not a complete winner. I like all the components, but the seasoning was off for me. It might have been because I didn’t use proper red pepper paste – I made my own – and I used Aleppo pepper  (not Turkish red pepper flakes). I ended up adding a lot more lemon than the recipe asked for. It’s not that it’s bad – it’s ok and I’ll eat it this week – bu it’s not amazing. I won’t make it again unless I seriously experiment with the seasoning. Which I likely will do because I like lentils, chickpeas and kale…

Eating it with greek yogurt helped.

 

Leave a Reply

