French Brasserie – Lemon Tart & Grand-Mere’s Tart Dough

I’ve spent a lot of time perfecting pies, but have never made a tart. I set out to rectify that this weekend.

I decided to use the recipe from the French Brasserie cookbook. And as long as I was at it, I decided to use his tart dough recipe as well. The dough was easy to pull together and rolled well, although I think I could have left it a bit thicker. The filling was – I think – the standard lemon tart filling, but he had me put in some lime zest, let it infuse for an hour, and then strain it out. I don’t think I could tell the difference. Not worth the extra steps! The other change I think would be to blind bake the crust longer.

He says that after it’s cooked you can sprinkle it with sugar and then broil it to get a creme brulee look. I tried this, but it didn’t really work. You can see some of it caramelized, but it also overcooked the crust, which sucked. I wish I had left it!

I normally have pretty good instincts in the kitchen and don’t like to get caught up in following the recipe exactly, but a few more detailed instructions would have been good. For example, he says when warming the lemon juice and sugar together that you let it reduce. Well, by how much? And how much sugar should be sprinkled on top to achieve the proper caramelization? I think mine didn’t work because I didn’t put enough. But I’m not sure.

It tasted great, which was the important thing. I’m going to do a bit more digging into other tart dough recipes to see how they stack up to his. But all in all, a success!

 

Leave a Reply

