French Brasserie – Maman’s Apple Tart

My first foray into tarts left me wanting to bake an apple tart tonight. Maybe because I’ve got a cold.

When I made the lemon tart, the leftover dough seemed like enough to make another tart, so I put it in the freezer. Out it came tonight. This apple tart seemed relatively simple – the filling is basically apples in custard. Kind of like an apple clafoutis in a tart shell.

I have to admit, when I started the recipe, I had doubts. There wasn’t really anything in the way of spices or seasoning – just sugar, egg, and cream. (Although, really, you don’t need much more than that). What concerned me most, however, was the cooking time. No blind bake, and only 25 minutes in the recipe. I had no doubt the apples would never cook in that time. And, guess what? They didn’t! I left it in the oven for well over an hour before I decided to take it out.

But…it was awfully tasty. The crust was more well done than I’d like, but it was sweet and sandy and lovely. I’m not sure I’d make this again. I’d have to experiment with other recipes first.

 

Leave a Reply

